German Red Cabbage – Rotkohl

Rotkohl is my favorite side dish with beef-rouladen and mashed potatoes. This combination is so traditional German as it can get. I remember Christmas lunches or special occasions when this meal was served. And sometimes I cook it. I would invite my friends or – God forgive me – I would make it on Thanksgiving. I hope I am not offending anyone… Try it out and if you really don’t have too much time, you can buy it in the jar and just heat it up. Add a bit of red wine and it is ready. Guten Appetit!

Ingredients

» 1 kg red cabbage
» 30 clarified butter or ghee (more information about ghee here)
» 1 onion
» 1 apple
» 1 tbsp sugar (or less)
» 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
» 3 tbsp red wine
» salt, 1 laurel leave, 1 clove
» 250 ml hot water

How you make it
– Remove outside leaves, cut it in quarters and remove the stalk.
– grate or cut it in fine stripes
– peel onion and chop it
– peel apple and cut it into cubes
– in a bigger pot heat the ghee
– add onions and apples, then add red cabbage; bring it to a boil, then reduce heat
– add vinegar, red wine, and spices
– fill up with water and let it cook for at least 1 hour

Red cabbage tastes even better the next day. You can make it the evening before and have it cook for another 15 minutes the next day before you want to serve it. Some say it even tastes better when reheated twice – I agree it does!

About gabrielle

Visual Artist, Photographer, Writer, Blogger, Cook
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

